Jane Once More ( Sequel to Jane of Manchester) By J. G. Dow

Jane Once More ( Sequel to Jane of Manchester) By J. G. Dow

jane

Jane is back and so are her friends and family but time stands still for no-one, as they say, and so has she moved on at all with her life?

Carrying on from the first book, Jane of Manchester, there is plenty of fun left to be had as Jane and her friends continue to have a laugh in the city, but change may be just around the corner…

More giggles, good times and drama from Jane and the crew!

My Thoughts:

This book was just as good as the first one which is called Jane of Manchester. We are back with Jane and we see what she is getting up to since we left her last time. I found it very amusing and warming. I feel as though I really warmed to Jane and her friends. Another great read.

I was given an advanced reading copy of this book for an honest review.

Get your copy here:

Kindle edition

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Jane-Once-More-Sequel-Manchester-ebook/

 

 

Advertisements
Close Your Eyes By Nicci Cloke

Close Your Eyes By Nicci Cloke

close your eyes

Southfield High School is oh so normal, with its good teachers, its bad, and its cliques. But despite the cliques, there’s a particular group of friends who have known each other forever and know that they can rely on each other for anything.

There’s the twins: Vis, rebellious, kind, and just a tiny bit worried about what the hell she’s going to do once this year is over, and Aisha, smart, quiet and observant. Then there’s Remy, the loudmouth, and Gemma, who’s more interested in college boys and getting into the crap club in town. And then there’s Elise: the pretty one.

But at the start of Year 11, when the group befriend the new boy, Elijah, things start to change. The group find themselves not as close as they used to be.

Until one Tuesday, when the students are trapped inside the school building. And one of them has a gun.

My Thoughts:

I received a advanced copy of this book and it really opened up my eyes. The story is set in a secondary school with a group of friends being centre of attention. The friends all have different characters there is a sport one, a quiet one, one who likes to flirt, the smart one so basically like a typical teenager group of friends. But then something dreadful happens, someone has a gun. The format of the book switches from text message style to interview style which made it more gripping for me. It also was at present and past , so you can get an idea of how each character is feeling at certain times.

Get your copy here:

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Close-Your-Eyes-Nicci-Cloke

The House of New Beginnings By Lucy Diamond

The House of New Beginnings By Lucy Diamond

lucy diamond

Number 11, Dukes Square, looks just like the other houses on the Brighton seafront: a Regency terrace with elegant sash windows, a winding staircase, and post piled up in the hall for its tenants. It might be part of the city’s history, but it’s also a place of brand new beginnings.

Georgie has followed her childhood sweetheart to Brighton but is determined to carve out a career for herself in journalism. Throwing herself into the city’s delights is fun and exciting, but before she knows it, she’s sliding into all kinds of trouble . . .

Charlotte’s in the city for a new start, hoping to keep her head down and somehow get over the heartbreaking loss she’s suffered in the past. But Margot, the stylish old lady on the top floor, has other ideas. Like it or not, Charlotte must confront the outside world, and the possibilities it still holds.

A terrible revelation sent Rosa running from London to start again as a sous chef. The work is gruelling and thankless but it’s a distraction at least . . . until she comes up against the stroppy teenager next door who challenges her on her lifestyle choices. What if Rosa’s passion for food could lead her to more interesting places?

As the three tenants find each other, it’s as if a whole new chapter of their lives has begun.

My Thoughts:

I am a big fan of Lucy Diamond’s books and they always seem to put a smile on my face. I love the fact it was set in Brighton as I go there quite alot and there are parts in the book where I know like the lanes. I got really wrapped up with all the residents of the flats lives and kind of felt as though I was one of them too. One of the things with Lucy Diamond’s books are I can always find someone I can relate too and I found this with this book too. A book you just wont want to put down.

Get your copy here:

https://www.amazon.co.uk/House-New-Beginnings-Lucy-Diamond

Beware that Girl By Teresa Toten

Beware that Girl By Teresa Toten

beware

This title will be released on January 12, 2017.

Kate O’Brien has always been known as the scholarship kid, running away from a terrible past and overcoming obstacles, some more sinister than others. She’s determined to make a better life for herself. She deserves it. And at the elite Waverly school, Kate is willing to do whatever it takes to climb the social ladder and land her spot at Yale.

There’s one girl in particular who catches Kate’s eye. Olivia Michelle Sumner, all born blonde and rich and just messed up enough for Kate to latch on to. As for Olivia, she’s a damaged girl, looking to be mended. She finds something promising in Kate. A study buddy. A best friend. A sister she never had. But even a vulnerable girl like Olivia has her own dark past to contend with.

When the handsome and whip-smart Mark Redkin joins the Waverly administration, he manages to woo the whole student body, paying particular attention to Olivia – an affair she very much wants to keep to herself, especially from Kate. And as a man who knows just how to get what he wants, Kate realises that Mark poses a huge threat, in more ways than she is willing to admit.

My Thoughts:

I was lucky enough to get an advanced copy of this book. This is a very dark twisted physiological thriller that had me guessing till the very end. There is alot of messed up stuff that happens in this book which I didn’t believe could happen but it does. It is crazy yes but you will want to keep reading on.

Pre-order your copy here:

 https://www.amazon.co.uk/Beware-that-Girl-Teresa-Toten

Catching Cassidy By Melissa Foster

Catching Cassidy By Melissa Foster

 

catching cassidy.jpg

Wyatt Armstrong never imagined that instead of celebrating his college graduation, he and his twin sister would be dealing with the death of their parents. Then again, Wyatt had never been one to think past tomorrow. He heads to their summer home in Harborside, Massachusetts, with his best friend Cassidy Lowell in tow, to deal with his parents’ death and to try to figure out his next step.

.
Six foot two, infuriatingly handsome, and flirtatious, Wyatt Armstrong has always been there for Cassidy, helping her pass her classes and fend off unwanted advances, while driving her insane with his one-night stands–but that’s what best friends are for, isn’t it? Having each other’s backs. There was never any doubt that she would accompany him to his family’s summer home–but she never expected to begin seeing Wyatt as more than a friend. Or has she been ignoring her feelings all along?
.
It’s impossible to ignore the sizzling heat between them as Wyatt and Cassidy get even closer, but Cassidy knows Wyatt’s past, and she has a real job to begin in the fall. Wyatt may be a sure thing for the summer, but Cassidy needs more. For the first time in his life, Wyatt is forced to look toward the future if he doesn’t want to lose the one woman who’s shared his past and owns his heart.

My Thoughts:

This book follows the story of twins Wyatt and Deliah and their childhood friend Cassidy. They have to deal with a complete blow, which forces them to do a lot of growing up very quickly. When life doesn’t turn out the way you planned it, it is great to know you have brilliant friends there to help you out. I a big fan of Melissa’s books but I have to say I thought this one was my favourite book.

Get your copy here:

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Catching-Cassidy-Harborside-Nights-Romance

The Lie By C. L. Taylor

The Lie By C. L. Taylor

This title will be released on April 23rd 2015

This was no accident…

Haunting, compelling, this psychological thriller will have you hooked. Perfect for fans of Gone Girl and Daughter.

I know your name’s not really Jane Hughes . . .

Jane Hughes has a loving partner, a job in an animal sanctuary and a tiny cottage in rural Wales. She’s happier than she’s ever been but her life is a lie. Jane Hughes does not really exist.

Five years earlier Jane and her then best friends went on holiday but what should have been the trip of a lifetime rapidly descended into a nightmare that claimed the lives of two of the women.

Jane has tried to put the past behind her but someone knows the truth about what happened. Someone who won’t stop until they’ve destroyed Jane and everything she loves . .

My Thoughts:

I was lucky to get an advanced copy of this book and I loved it just as much as Cally’s first book called The Accident. There are twists and turns in this story that you wont see coming and I loved how Cally brings you into her story so much like you feel like your there. I thought the characters were very interesting and thought provoking. I really like the fact that Jane worked at an animal sanctuary, this was clearly researched into very well. I really look forward to Cally’s next book.

If you would like to purchase this book, click on the link below:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Lie-C-L-Taylor

Last Friends by Jane Gardam

Last Friends by Jane Gardam

Old Filth and The Man in the Wooden Hat told with bristling tenderness and black humour the stories of that Titan of the Hong Kong law courts, Old Filth QC, and his clever, misunderstood wife Betty. Last Friends, the final volume of this trilogy, picks up with Terence Veneering, Filth’s great rival in work and – though it was never spoken of – in love.

Veneering, Filth and their friends tell a tale of love, friendship, grace, the bitter sweet experiences of a now – forgotten Empire and the disappointments and consolations of age.

jane gardam

My Thoughts:

Last Friends is the third and final novel in the Old Filth Trilogy. I would recommend starting off by reading Old Filth then the man in the wooden hat and then last friends as the characters are featured throughout this trilogy. I would have to say the other two books were a delight to read and this novel wasn’t bad either, the characters are interesting and Jane bought it all to a lovely conclusion, but at times it was confusing and I couldn’t work out what was going on.