Chatty Cat: Spring into Summer: Volume 2 By Suzan Collins

Chatty Cat: Spring into Summer: Volume 2 By Suzan Collins

The second in the Chatty Cat series follows Chatty through spring and summer in her new home as she gradually learns to relax and enjoy her surroundings. “The sun has warmed up the ground and now the sun is shining on my tummy and making it nice and warm. It’s all quiet in the garden and I fall asleep. I am dreaming…” Life still holds a few surprises for Chatty, with new friends and new experiences.

Chatty Cat is a real rescue cat in a real home and her adventures provide a useful guide to caring for your pet. It’s not just a manual – but it will help you look after your cat. It’s not just a story – but you can read it like one. It’s not just a children’s book – but children of all ages will love it, and so will adults. The author has a real knack for getting into Chatty Cat’s head and explaining her behaviour in ways that everyone can recognise.

My Thoughts:

Having a cat myself, I was really keen to read this book, it is an absolute delight for all ages. There is some really useful information in this book, It would be a good starter book if your thinking about getting a cat or like me just want to know more about cats. Even though this is the second book I am definitely going to read the first book too. The sketches and photographs are brilliant. Happy Reading!

Before I Go By Colleen Oakley

Before I Go By Colleen Oakley

This title will be released on May 7, 2015.

“Her time is running out. How can Daisy ensure that Jack will live happily ever after? On the eve of what was supposed to be a triumphant ‘Cancerversary’ with her husband Jack to celebrate three years of good health, Daisy suffers a devastating blow: her doctor tells her that the cancer is back, but this time it’s unstoppable. Death is a frightening prospect – but not because she’s afraid for herself.

She’s terrified of what will happen to her brilliant but charmingly helpless husband when she’s no longer there to take care of him. It’s this fear that keeps her up at night, until she stumbles on the solution: she has to find him another wife. With a singular determination, Daisy searches for Jack’s perfect match.

But as the thought of her husband with another woman becomes all too real, Daisy is forced to decide what’s more important in the short amount of time she has left: her husband’s happiness – or her own?”

My Thoughts:

I want to say a big thank you to Lovereading for letting me review this book. It is always hard to read a book that has someone in it that has cancer, it is hard when you know someone that has been through it whether they are still here or not. To be honest speaking from personal experiences as I lost someone who was battling cancer. I wasn’t too sure if I would like this book or not I did  find some of it hard to read and I did have a little cry, remembering certain things. I like the way this story was written as I haven’t before read a story about the actual person’s way of coping with the disease. This is a story that really makes you appreciate life and really makes you think. I think this book will stay with me for life.

If you would like to check out Lovereading’s website, here is the link:

http://www.lovereading.co.uk/

If you would like to purchase the book, click on the amazon link below:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Before-I-Go-Colleen-Oakley/

 

A Seaside Affair By Fern Britton

A Seaside Affair By Fern Britton

 

When the residents of the Cornish seaside town of Trevay discover that their much-loved theatre is about to be taken over by a coffee chain, they are up in arms. It is up to Penny Leighton, hotshot producer and the vicar’s wife, to come up with a rescue plan. Armed with only her mobile phone, she starts to pull in some serious favours.

The town is soon deluged by actors, all keen to show their support and take part in a charity season at the theatre. One of the arrivals is Jess Tate, girlfriend of TV heartthrob Ryan Hearst. His career is on the rise while her own is in the doldrums. But everything is about to change. Trevay must put on the show of its life – but can the villagers, and Jess, hold on to the thing they love the most?

My Thoughts:

This is the second book by Fern Britton that I have read and even though I did enjoy it, some parts to me did feel quite rushed. There are quite a lot of characters in this book so I did find myself having to concentrate, having said that all the characters were well written and I did feel for a couple of them. It was a good story and the setting seemed idyllic. A gripping story that you wont want to put down.

 

 

Croissants and Jam By Lynda Renham

Croissants and Jam By Lynda Renham

Annabel Lewis (Bels) has two days to get to her wedding in Rome but her journey is beset with one disaster after another as fate takes its turn. Will the stranger she meets on the way get her to her wedding on time or will he change her life forever?

Come with Bels on her humorous romantic journey to see if she marries Mr Right or if destiny takes her in different direction.

My Thoughts:

What a fantastic book. I have now read a few of Lynda’s books and thoroughly enjoyed all of them. They are brilliant stories and really funny. If your feeling down this book will lift your spirits as it did mine. I love all the characters and the storyline was the best. A really enjoyable book from start to finish. I think this one is a must read.

The Lie By C. L. Taylor

The Lie By C. L. Taylor

This title will be released on April 23rd 2015

This was no accident…

Haunting, compelling, this psychological thriller will have you hooked. Perfect for fans of Gone Girl and Daughter.

I know your name’s not really Jane Hughes . . .

Jane Hughes has a loving partner, a job in an animal sanctuary and a tiny cottage in rural Wales. She’s happier than she’s ever been but her life is a lie. Jane Hughes does not really exist.

Five years earlier Jane and her then best friends went on holiday but what should have been the trip of a lifetime rapidly descended into a nightmare that claimed the lives of two of the women.

Jane has tried to put the past behind her but someone knows the truth about what happened. Someone who won’t stop until they’ve destroyed Jane and everything she loves . .

My Thoughts:

I was lucky to get an advanced copy of this book and I loved it just as much as Cally’s first book called The Accident. There are twists and turns in this story that you wont see coming and I loved how Cally brings you into her story so much like you feel like your there. I thought the characters were very interesting and thought provoking. I really like the fact that Jane worked at an animal sanctuary, this was clearly researched into very well. I really look forward to Cally’s next book.

If you would like to purchase this book, click on the link below:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Lie-C-L-Taylor

The Accident By C. L. Taylor

The Accident By C. L. Taylor

A gripping psychological thriller about the deadly secrets your children can keep …

Sue Jackson has the perfect family but when her teenage daughter Charlotte deliberately steps in front of a bus and ends up in a coma she is forced to face a very dark reality.

Retracing her daughter’s steps she finds a horrifying entry in Charlotte’s diary and is forced to head deep into Charlotte’s private world. In her hunt for evidence, Sue begins to mistrust everyone close to her daughter and she’s forced to look further, into the depths of her own past.

Sue will do anything to protect her daughter. But what if she is the reason that Charlotte is in danger?

My Thoughts:

I couldn’t put this book down as it is so full of twists and turns. I liked how it alternated between present day and  Charlotte’s mother’s diary from the past. I grew to like Sue despite her flaws. I read this book within two days and was really intrigued what was going to happen next. This was a brilliant debut novel and I am excited to read the author’s next book called The Lie.

If you want to purchase this book click on the link below.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/ACCIDENT-C-L-Taylor/dp/0007540035/ref=sr_1_3?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1428071497&sr=1-3&keywords=c.+l.+taylor

 

The Girl Who Couldn’t Stop Arguing By Melissa Kite

The Girl Who Couldn’t Stop Arguing By Melissa Kite

Madison Flight refuses to be born for five days. She comes out eventually – kicking, screaming, and scarred for life by forceps – but it isn’t long before her mother, Cynthia, realises the terrible truth: she has given birth to the world’s first arguing baby.

Cyntha’s husband Mitchell soon takes off in terror, leaving her to raise their quarrelsome rugrat with only the help of the next door neighbour Shirley – a sadistic retired nurse who detests children.

Madison’s young life is full of proud milestones: at the age of one she breaks the world record for the number of times anyone has said the word ‘no’ during a two week Spanish package holiday – 4,477 times – and she gets better with practice. Lots of practice.

This is the story of a girl who wanted to be right rather than happy. This is the story of the girl who couldn’t stop arguing.

My Thoughts:

I started reading this book unsure what to expect having never read one of Melissa’s books before. The start I have to say was ok, but I kind of lost interest through out the rest of the story. It just didn’t seem to grab my attention and although I managed to finish it, I wasn’t really taken with it. I would like to read one of Melissa’s other books to see if I would like them though.