The Longest Ride By Nicholas Spark

The Longest Ride By Nicholas Spark

Two couples. Two love stories. One epic tale.

Ninety-one-year-old Ira Levinson is in trouble. Struggling to stay conscious after a car crash, with his mind fading, an image of his adored – and long-dead – wife Ruth appears. Urging him to hang on, she lovingly recounts the joys and sorrows of their life together – how they met, the dark days of WWII and its unrelenting effect on their families.

A few miles away, college student Sophia Danko’s life is about to change. Recovering from a break-up, she meets the young, rugged Luke and is thrown into a world far removed from her privileged school life. Sophia sees a new and tantalising future for herself, but Luke is keeping a secret that could destroy it all.

Ira and Ruth. Sophia and Luke. Two couples, separated by years and experience, whose lives are about to converge in the most unexpected – and shocking – of ways.

My Thoughts:

Nicholas Spark is a new author to me, so I wasn’t sure what to really expect. I have to say I absolutely loved this book, so much so that I read it within 4 days of receiving my copy. I was hooked from the beginning and loved how the two stories entwined together. The story has everything going for it, it made me laugh out loud, it made me smile, it made me shed a few tears. It was just brilliant. I would highly recommend this book.

If you would like to purchase this book, here is the link:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Longest-Ride-Nicholas-Sparks

 

Advertisements
Voice of Innocence By Lindsey Detwiler

Voice of Innocence By Lindsey Detwiler

Emma and Corbin: two typical teenagers traveling the road of first love together, innocent hearts linked by an impenetrable bond. When Corbin is convicted of a murder he didn’t commit and faces years in prison, though, their love is severed.

Decades later, Corbin is finally proven innocent and both are haunted by a relationship neither has forgotten. Lives irrevocably altered and time passed, Emma and Corbin must face a difficult decision: should they settle for the separate lives that have become their reality, or can they take the risk that the passion of a first love doesn’t fade with time?

My Thoughts:

This book is a love story with many interesting and intriguing twists. I found it really interesting to hear about the characters and they way you can read about their innermost thoughts. I think Lindsey has done that really well. This is a book that people will be able to relate to, it will make you think about life in general and about all the turns that life deals to us all. This book made me really think about my life and I really hope that there is a sequel as I would love to hear more about the two main characters.

Crashing into Love By Melissa Foster

Crashing into Love By Melissa Foster

Fiona Steele has a great career, strong friendships, and a loving family. To an outsider, her life appears happy and fulfilling. But the one thing that’s missing is true love, and the only man Fiona wants is the one she can’t have, sinfully handsome and seductively intense Jake Braden—the man whose heart she broke, which she has regretted ever since.

As an LA stuntman, Jake Braden’s at the top of his game. He’s hired for all the best movies, hooks up with the hottest women, and lives an unencumbered lifestyle where his needs come first—and where he doesn’t have to examine his life too closely. Except when he visits his family in his close-knit hometown of Trusty, Colorado, where he spends his time avoiding Fiona—the only woman who knows who he really is.

When Fiona’s best friend is hired to act in Jake’s movie, Fiona jumps at the chance to try to win him back. There’s no denying the white-hot attraction burning between them. With every encounter, Fiona hopes Jake can’t resist falling back into the love they once shared. But her well-orchestrated rendezvous doesn’t go over well with the brooding heartthrob. Living in the fast lane is perfect for a guy who’s buried his emotions so damn deep he’s not sure he can remember how to feel—and he’s not sure he ever wants to.

My Thoughts:

Another brilliant story from Melissa, I feel very privileged to be able to read and review Melissa’s books. When reading one of these fantastic books I feel I am drawn into the characters world. The characters are loveable, I feel like I know each and every one so well. The story is written really well too, I love the fact Melissa uses LA as her base, as I was lucky enough to go there last year, and it is such a beautiful place, I think that’s why I feel I can connect with these books.

The Sweetest Thing By Cathy Woodman

The Sweetest Thing By Cathy Woodman

If only everything in life was as simple as baking a cake…

Jennie Copeland thought she knew the recipe for a happy life: marriage to her university sweetheart, a nice house in the suburbs and three beautiful children. But when her husband leaves her, she is forced to find a different recipe. And she thinks she’s found just what she needs: a ramshackle house on the outskirts of the beautiful Talyton St George, a new cake-baking business, a dog, a horse, chickens…

But life in the country is not quite as idyllic as she’d hoped, and Jennie can’t help wondering whether neighbouring farmer Guy Barnes was right when he told her she wouldn’t last the year.

Or perhaps the problem is that she’s missing one vital ingredient to make her new life a success. Could Guy be the person to provide it?

My Thoughts:

Love, Love, Love this book so much. This book is part of a series but can be read as a standalone novel, which is what I have done but now want to read the series. I have read one of Cathy’s books before and fell in love with the style of writing and also they way it is just a nice, calming read. I love the fact that Jennie is a baker and makes all of these amazing cakes, I really felt like I knew her and what struggles she went through day to day. Cathy has a brilliant knowledge about farm animals, which was an added bonus. Look forward to reviewing her other books.

As Dreams Are Made On By Maria Gibbs

As Dreams Are Made On By Maria Gibbs

Matty Taylor: a beautiful young woman is starting out in her new life with her husband. Plagued by visions that seem all too real she seeks advice from the Gypsy at the local fair.

Donald Taylor: cannot believe his luck when Matty agrees to marry him. A methodical, down to earth, man who requires irrefutable evidence to believe in the existence of anything.

Thomas Trevelyan: Enigmatic and exciting but with an agenda of his own.
Matty is pulled from her life in the 21st Century into a frightening dream world where Thomas Trevelyan rescues her from a crowd of angry peasants and spirits her off to his secluded house in the woods.

Frightened when he cannot wake Matty from her sleep Donald has to start challenging the way he thinks in order to get her back.
If Thomas can win her heart, he will be a step closer to obtaining the ultimate prize but he has to contend with the echoes of her real life endeavouring to lure her back.
Two men lay claim to her affections but who will be the victor?

My Thoughts:

I was given this book for an honest review and I will say I was utterly captivated straight away. Even though this is a short story I really  enjoyed reading it. There is a twist in this book that you would never believe could happen but it does, it makes you want more. It was a really gripping read and I look forward to reading more of Maria’s books in the future.

His Other Life By Beth Thomas

His Other Life By Beth Thomas

The story of a couple with seemingly perfect lives…and the secrets they hide behind closed doors.

Perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty and Jo Jo Moyes.

He was hiding a terrible secret . . .

Grace’s new husband Adam seems like the perfect package. Good looking, great job, completely charming – almost too good to be true . . .

So when Adam suddenly disappears from Grace’s life, she is left bewildered and heartbroken. And with a lot of unanswered questions.

As she tries desperately to find him, Grace opens a Pandora’s Box of secrets and lies – and starts to learn that Adam wasn’t so perfect after all.

What shameful secrets was her husband hiding? Is Grace in danger? And can she survive the truth? However terrible it may be . .

My Thoughts:

This book really drew me in. I love Beth’s writing style, she has a way to make the characters really likeable. I loved the plot, where Grace’s husband Adam goes missing and she and her friend Matt try to piece together what happened to him. I actually thought I knew what was going to happen early on but was pleasantly surprised by the outcome. The cover looks brilliant and enchanting and I couldn’t wait to leap right in.

Paris for One By JoJo Moyes

Paris for One By JoJo Moyes

Nell is twenty-six and has never been to Paris. She has never even been on a weekend away with her boyfriend. Everyone knows she is just not the adventurous type.

But, when her boyfriend doesn’t turn up for their romantic mini-break, Nell has the chance to prove everyone wrong.

Alone in Paris, Nell meets the mysterious moped-riding Fabien and his group of carefree friends. Could this turn out to be the most adventurous weekend of her life?

My Thoughts:

I really like JoJo Moyes and the way she writes. This is a quick read only 96 pages, which I managed to read in 20 minutes. I flew through this book and really enjoyed it. I found the story absorbing and I loved Nell the main character. Lovely light hearted fun definitely served best with a cup of tea and a bar of galaxy.